Building Control Act 2007


Technical Assessment Board (Part 3).

21.— (1) The registration body shall establish a Technical Assessment Board to consider applications for registration in the register from persons who do not fall within any of paragraphs (a) to (g) and (i) of section 14(2).

(2) The Technical Assessment Board shall consist of a chairperson and 7 ordinary members, the latter appointed by the registration body as follows:

(a) 3 architects nominated for such appointment by the registration body;

(b) 4 persons nominated for such appointment by the Minister, being persons who are not architects.

F6[(3) The chairperson of the Technical Assessment Board shall be a solicitor, a barrister or a former judge of the Circuit Court, High Court, Court of Appeal or Supreme Court who shall be appointed as chairperson by the Minister.]

(4) The Technical Assessment Board shall establish a panel of architects being architects who the Board considers possess the requisite expertise for the purpose of performing the functions assigned to members of the panel under subsection (5).

(5) The Technical Assessment Board shall, in respect of each application under section 22, appoint not less than 3 of the members of the panel established under subsection (4) to—

(a) examine the documents furnished to the Board under subsection (2) of that section (and any additional information furnished to it under subsection (3) of that section),

(b) interview the applicant, and

(c) give to the Board their opinion as to whether the applicant is eligible for registration pursuant to that section.




Substituted (28.10.2014) by Court of Appeal Act 2014 (18/2014), s. 67(b), S.I. No. 479 of 2014.